MINUTES State Geographic Information Council Meeting

The State Geographic Information Council met Friday, September 9, 2011 at the Oklahoma Water Resources Board Conference Room, in Oklahoma City, OK. Council Chair Mike Sharp called the meeting to order at 10:30 a.m. He stated this was a regularly scheduled meeting in compliance with the Open Meeting Law, Title 25 O.S. Sections 301-314. The agenda for this meeting was posted at the front entrance of the meeting room as well as the front entrance to the building. Following the pledge of allegiance, the Council members introduced themselves along with those in the audience. It was determined that a quorum was present.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Mike Sharp, OK Conservation Commission May Yuan, Center for Spatial Analysis Andrea Crews, OK Dept of Wildlife Cheryl Taylor, Association of Regional Councils Mike Sughru, OK Water Resources Board Jane Weber, OK Geological Survey Steve Stadler, State Geography Mike Sexton, OK Dept of Commerce David Wheelock, OK Dept of Agriculture Amy Brittain, OK DEQ Wade Patterson, County Assessors Dick Clark, Office of State Finance Leroy Lage, City Governments

MEMBERS ABSENT:

OK Corporation Commission Oklahoma State University OK Dept of Transportation Regional Universities of Oklahoma OK Office of Homeland Security OK Tax Commission

OTHERS PRESENT:

Shellie Willoughby, Office of Geographic Information Matt Moore, OU
Jason Hall, ODEQ
Bill Bartush, US Fish & Wildlife
Gail Hedgcoth, Osage County Assessor
Bobby Rockers, Cobb Engineering
Bryan Salsieder, Cobb Engineering
Dan Hake, Commissioner of the Land Office
Ray Bottger, ODMHSAS
Spencer Aycock, Fort Sill, OK GIS
Mark Howery, ODWC
Ann Marie Waugh, SWODA
Brenda Fennel, Choctaw Nation
Alan Stevenson, ODOT

Charles Brady, City of Ardmore
Michael Reid, ODEQ
Jason Redden, OU
Heather Mallory, ODEQ
John Toombs, DOD
Bartley Estes, Cobb Engineering
David Littlejohn, Cobb Engineering
Bock Ray, ODWC
Jon Phillips, OWBS
Garrett Botter, ONG
Todd Fagin, OK Biological Survey
Susan Langley, OK Dept of Ag
Allan Janus, ODWC
Janet Combs, OKDHS

4. Approval of May Meeting Minutes

Leroy Lage made a motion to approve the minutes. Wade Patterson seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

5. Committee Reports

Amy Brittain gave the Council members an environmental data workgroup update. The group has not met but will continue to work on the environmental data issues in the coming months. If any one is interested in participating in the group please contact Amy Brittain.

Mike Sharp stated that the updated the Addressing Standards workgroup did not meet over the summer but hopes to revisit the issue in the coming months.

- 6. Discussion and possible action concerning the Lightsquared versus GPS controversy Mike Sharp discussed the Lightsquared versus GPS controversy with the Council members. Several organizations have sent letters of support to Congress in favor of GPS. At the recommendation of the Council, Mike Sharp will draft a letter to our Congressional delegation from the Council to offer support of GPS and to discuss the concerns of Lightsquared.
- 7. <u>Presentation: "Prospects for an Improved Current Vegetation Map for Oklahoma" by David Diamond and Lee Elliott, Missouri Resource Assessment Partnership, University of Missouri, Columbia</u>

8. GIS Discussion / Data Issues

Mike Sharp discussed the state IT Consolidation efforts. The Council will be working on a GIS governance model in the coming months.

9. New Business

None

10. Announcements

- OKSCAUG is offering training in October. If you are interested please visit the website: www.scaug.org
- OKSCAUG Conference, Moore Norman Technology Center, Oklahoma City, OK October 25, 2011, www.scaug.org
- National GIS-T Conference, Spring 2012, Colorado http://www.gis-t.org/

11. Next Council Meeting

The next meeting will be held November 4, 2011 at 10:30 a.m.

13. Adjourn

The motion was made to adjourn by Wade Patterson and seconded by Dick Clark. The meeting adjourned at 11:30 am