# MINUTES State Geographic Information Council Meeting

The State Geographic Information Council met Friday, November 4, 2011 at the Oklahoma Water Resources Board Conference Room, in Oklahoma City, OK. Council Chair Mike Sharp called the meeting to order at 10:30 a.m. He stated this was a regularly scheduled meeting in compliance with the Open Meeting Law, Title 25 O.S. Sections 301-314. The agenda for this meeting was posted at the front entrance of the meeting room as well as the front entrance to the building. Following the pledge of allegiance, the Council members introduced themselves along with those in the audience. It was determined that a quorum was present.

## MEMBERS PRESENT:

Mike Sharp, OK Conservation Commission Marguerite Keesee, Center for Spatial Analysis Andrea Crews, OK Dept of Wildlife Wade Patterson, County Assessors Mike Sughru, OK Water Resources Board Jane Weber, OK Geological Survey Kim Carter, OK Dept of Homeland Security David Wheelock, OK Dept of Agriculture Amy Brittain, OK DEQ Mike Larson, State Geography Dick Clark, Office of State Finance Leroy Lage, City Governments

## MEMBERS ABSENT:

OK Corporation Commission Oklahoma State University OK Tax Commission OK Dept of Commerce Regional Universities of Oklahoma OK Dept of Transportation Association of Regional Councils

#### OTHERS PRESENT:

Shellie Willoughby, Office of Geographic Information Matt Moore, OU Darryl Williams, USGS David Monorax Ken Tagi, ODOT Don Shafer, Ok Parks Bartley Estes, Cobb Engineering Bob Rockers, Cobb Engineering Gail Hedgcoth, Osage County Assessor Matt Lewlthunk, ODWC Julie Adams, NRCS Gary Phillips, ODL Michael Funaro, ESRI Ray Bottger, ODMHSAS Ryan Wilbanks, Visual Lease Services Charles Brady, City of Ardmore Michael Reid, ODEQ Jenifer Sebesta, ACOG Scott Overland, IspeedTech Dan Hough, OK Biological Survey Kendra Jones, ODOT Susan Langley, OKDAF David Littlejohn, Cobb Engineering Allan Janus, ODWC Shane Lietch, ONG Clif Broadworth, ODL Jerrod Smith, USGS Sohail Hasanjee, OSDH Michael Gammill, Plainsnet

#### 4. Approval of September Meeting Minutes

Leroy Lage made a motion to approve the minutes. Wade Patterson seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

#### 5. <u>Committee Reports</u>

- Environmental Data Workgroup: No report
- Addressing Standards Workgroup: No report
- Landcover Dataset Workgroup: Allan Janus from the Oklahoma Department of Wildlife Conservation updated the group on the latest activities. ODWC has

received a portion on the funding necessary to complete the Landcover Project. ODWC is looking for partners to help fund the rest of the project. Discussion was held among the members as to the best method to reach out to state agencies and other potential partners concerning the Landcover project. It was determined that Allan Janus and Mike Sharp will work together to formulate a plan to approach the Secretary of Environment and the Secretary of Agriculture about funding for the project.

## 6. <u>Presentation: "Status of the OK Broadband Projects" Oklahoma Broadband Team -</u> <u>Dick Clark, OSF; Marguerite Keesee, CSA OU; Alan Stevenson, ODOT; Shellie</u> <u>Willoughby, OGI</u>

# 7. GIS Discussion / Data Issues

- Mike Sharp announced the FGDC CAP Grant applications are available for review. Grant applications will be accepted until mid January.
- Mike Sughru announced that he recently posted a lot of OWRB data to their website: <u>www.owrb.ok.gov</u>
- Mike Sughru also announced that he is interested in offering a NHD editing training in early 2012. If anyone is interested in participating in the training please contact Mike Sughru.

# 8. New Business

None

## 9. Announcements

- OKSCAUG is offering ArcGIS Basics training in December 2011 and January 2012. If you are interested please visit the website: <u>www.scaug.org</u>
- OKSCAUG User Group meeting, February 15, 2012, Edmond, OK.
- National GIS-T Conference, Spring 2012, Colorado <u>http://www.gis-t.org/</u>
- GIS Day at the Capitol will be held March 14, 2012.

# 10. Next Council Meeting

The next meeting will be held January 6, 2012 at 10:30 a.m.

# 11. Adjourn

The motion was made to adjourn by Jane Weber and seconded by Dick Clark. The meeting adjourned at 12:15 pm