# MINUTES State Geographic Information Council Meeting

The State Geographic Information Council met Friday, January 7, 2011 at the Oklahoma Water Resources Board Conference Room, in Oklahoma City, OK. Council Chair Mike Sharp called the meeting to order at 10:30 a.m. He stated this was a regularly scheduled meeting in compliance with the Open Meeting Law, Title 25 O.S. Sections 301-314. The agenda for this meeting was posted at the front entrance of the meeting room as well as the front entrance to the building. Following the pledge of allegiance, the Council members introduced themselves along with those in the audience. It was determined that a quorum was present.

## **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Mike Sharp, OK Conservation Commission Jay Adams, OK Dept of Transportation Jane Weber, OK Geological Survey Mike Sughru, OK Water Resources Board Amy Brittain, OK Dept of Environmental Quality David Wheelock, OK Dept of Agriculture Mike Sexton, OK Dept of Commerce

## MEMBERS ABSENT:

OK Corporation Commission OSU Association of Regional Councils Troy Frazier, OK Tax Commission Steve Stadler, State Geographer Wade Patterson, County Assessors Andrea Crews, OK Dept of Wildlife Scott March, Center for Spatial Analysis Kim Carter, OK Office of Homeland Security

Regional Universities of Oklahoma City Governments Office of State Finance

## **OTHERS PRESENT:**

Shellie Willoughby, Office of Geographic Information Darryl Williams, USGS Bob Springer, Benchmark GPS Michael Larson, OSU Cheryl Tramell, Chesapeake Energy Daniel Fazekas, ACOG Rav Bottger, OKMHSAS James Burton, ODWEO Julie Adams, NRCS Mark Becker, USGS Patricia Billingsley, OK Corporation Commission Ron Maxwell, ODOT Drew Self, BLM Josh Richards, ODWC Bobby Rockers, Cobb Engineering Sohail Hasanjee, OSDH

Charles Brady, City of Ardmore Allan Janus, ODWC Erik Bartholomew, ODWC Ryan Mathis, OSU John Sharp, ACOG Dan Hough, OK Biological Survey Doug Hawthorne, State Parks Gail Hedgcoth, Osage County Assessor Shirley Roberts, NRCS Jerrod Smith, USGS Mark Brown, ODOT Mitch Antle, Washington County Kevin Koon, Devon Cory Newcomb, OK Military Dept Wes Morrison, OSDH

## 4. Approval of November Meeting Minutes

Jay Adams made a motion to approve the minutes. Steve Stadler seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

## 5. Committee Reports

Shellie Willoughby updated the group on the job description initiative. The job descriptions have been approved by OPM and will be in effect starting July 1, 2011.

Dan Hough gave the Council members a landcover dataset workgroup update. The Committee is going to start working on a study area using the 4 band NAIP photography once the photography arrives. The committee plans to meet in January to discuss funding options and pick a study area. If you are interested in participating in the group please contact Dan Hough.

Amy Brittain gave the Council members an environmental data workgroup update. The group has not met since November but is planning a meeting in late January. If any one is interested in participating in the group please contact Amy Brittain.

## 6. <u>Presentation: "The Oklahoma Wetlands Viewer" by Mike Sughru, OK Water Resources</u> <u>Board</u>

## 7. GIS Discussion / Data Issues

Mike Sharp announced that the Office of Geographic Information has received the OKC metro multi city aerial data from ACOG and will be making it available through the OGI ftp site soon. USGS has also provided the aerial photography from the Tulsa area and it will also be available through the FTP site.

Mike Sharp has set up a Community of Practice wiki through OSF. Mike will be sending out more information about the wiki soon.

Amy Brittain announced that the 2010 NAIP photography is available on the DEQ data viewer (<u>http://maps.scigis.com/deq\_wq/</u>)

OKMAPS (<u>http://ogi.state.ok.us/ogi/geoserver/wms?</u>) has the 2010 NAIP photography available through a WMS server.

## 8. New Business

None

## 9. Announcements

GIS Day at the Capitol, March 2, 2011 Regional SCAUG Conference, San Antonio, TX, April 4 – 8, 2011, www.scaug.org

## 10. Next Council Meeting

The next meeting will be held February 4, 2011 at 10:30 a.m.

## 11. Adjourn

The motion was made to adjourn by Wade Patterson and seconded by Jane Weber. The meeting adjourned at 11:35 am