# MINUTES State Geographic Information Council Meeting

The State Geographic Information Council met Friday, September 10, 2010 at the Oklahoma Water Resources Board Conference Room, in Oklahoma City, OK. Council Chair Mike Sharp called the meeting to order at 10:30 a.m. He stated this was a regularly scheduled meeting in compliance with the Open Meeting Law, Title 25 O.S. Sections 301-314. The agenda for this meeting was posted at the front entrance of the meeting room as well as the front entrance to the building. Following the pledge of allegiance, the Council members introduced themselves along with those in the audience. It was determined that a quorum was present.

## MEMBERS PRESENT:

Mike Sharp, OK Conservation Commission Mike Sexton, OK Dept of Commerce Jane Weber, OK Geological Survey Mike Sughru, OK Water Resources Board Amy Brittain, OK Dept of Environmental Quality David Wheelock, OK Dept of Agriculture Ann Marie Waugh, OK Association of Regional Councils Jeff Spelman, OK Tax Commission Steve Stadler, State Geographer Wade Patterson, County Assessors Andrea Crews, OK Dept of Wildlife Kathy Hines, Center for Spatial Analysis Kim Carter, OK Office of Homeland Security

## **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

OK Corporation Commission Office of State Finance OK Dept of Transportation

## **OTHERS PRESENT:**

Shellie Willoughby, Office of Geographic Information Dan Hough, OK Biological Survey Adam Milligan, USBR Gail Hedgcoth, Osage County Assessor Mitch Antle, Washington County Community Dev Wes Morrison, OK Dept of Health Ray Bottger, ODMHSAS Miriam McGaugh, OK Dept of Health Christy Batterson, City of Edmond Candace Cunningham, OK Conservation Commission Stacia Canaday, ESRI Ian Peebles, City of Edmond Regional Universities of Oklahoma OSU City Governments

Jeff Wallace, Office of Accountability Bob Blasing, USBR Lynetta Long, OSBI Jerrod Smith, USGS Michael Funaro, ESRI Pam Jurney, Red Plains Professional Joyce Green, City of Norman Lt. Greg Lankford, OMD Alicia Nicely, ACOG Chris Fetsch, OK Dept of Health Darryl Williams, USGS

## 4. Approval of June Meeting Minutes

Wade Patterson made a motion to approve the minutes. Kim Carter seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

## 5. Committee Reports

Shellie Willoughby updated the group on the job description initiative. Mike Sharp and Shellie met with OPM and ODOT to discuss some issues with the job descriptions. The meeting resulted in the 3<sup>rd</sup> manager level job description being dropped. The descriptions will now go through OPM internal review and an open meeting will be scheduled. We are hopeful that the job descriptions will make it through the open meeting and will be implemented soon.

Dan Hough gave the Council members a landcover dataset workgroup update. The group met on August 3<sup>rd</sup> and will meet again after the September Council meeting. The group did

present a poster at the 95th Ecological Society of America Annual Meeting August 1 to August 6, 2010 in Pittsburgh, PA. The poster described what the group hopes to accomplish in the future.

Amy Brittain gave the Council members an environmental data workgroup update. The group plans to meet again on September 28<sup>th</sup> to continue discussing data issues.

## 6. <u>Discussion and possible approval of the FY'12 Budget for the Office of Geographic</u> Information

Mike Sharp presented the proposed FY '12 budget to the Council members. Discussion was held among the GI Council members concerning the budget. Andrea Crews made a motion to approve the budget. Wade Patterson seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

## 7. Presentation: "MapServer – County Map Viewer", Troy Frazier, OK Tax Commission

## 8. GIS Discussion / Data Issues

Mike stated that 2010 NAIP photography for Eastern Oklahoma should be released soon.

## 9. New Business

None

## 10. Announcements

OK SCAUG Conference, September 21, 2010, Moore Norman Tech Center. <u>www.scaug.org</u> ArcGIS 10: What's New Seminar, November 9, 2010, Oklahoma City <u>www.esri.com</u>

## 11. Next Council Meeting

The next meeting will be held November 5, 2010 at 10:30 a.m.

## 12. <u>Adjourn</u>

The motion was made to adjourn by Wade Patterson and seconded by Kim Carter. The meeting adjourned at 11:35 am