# MINUTES State Geographic Information Council Meeting

The State Geographic Information Council met Friday, February 5, 2010 at the Oklahoma Water Resources Board Conference Room, in Oklahoma City, OK. Council Chair Mike Sharp called the meeting to order at 10:30 a.m. He stated this was a regularly scheduled meeting in compliance with the Open Meeting Law, Title 25 O.S. Sections 301-314. The agenda for this meeting was posted at the front entrance of the meeting room as well as the front entrance to the building. Following the pledge of allegiance, the Council members introduced themselves along with those in the audience. It was determined that a quorum was present.

#### MEMBERS PRESENT:

Mike Sharp, OK Conservation Commission Mike Sexton, OK Dept of Commerce Jane Weber, OK Geological Survey Mike Sughru, OK Water Resources Board Andrea Crews, OK Dept of Wildlife Amy Brittain, OK Dept of Environmental Quality Trish Weedn, OK Association of Regional Councils

MEMBERS ABSENT:

OK Corporation Commission OK State University OK Dept of Agriculture

## **OTHERS PRESENT:**

Shellie Willoughby, Office of Geographic Information Mitch Antle, Washington County Adam Bean, Washington County Erik Bartholomew, OK Dept of Wildlife Conservation Mike Magee, City of Edmond Ray Bottger, OKMHSAS Dan Hough, OK Biological Survey Charles Brady, City of Ardmore Joyce Green, City of Norman Carlos Yinez, DEQ Mark Brown, ODOT S. Jerrod Smith, USGS Mark Pilkington, OK Army National Guard Tricia Billingsley, OK Corporation Commission Kathy Spivey. City of Midwest City

# 4. Approval of January Meeting Minutes

Troy Frazier, OK Tax Commission Steve Stadler, State Geographer Wade Patterson, County Assessors Councils Jay Adams, OK Dept of Transportation Kim Carter, OK Office of Homeland Security Kathy Hines, Center for Spatial Analysis

Regional Universities of Oklahoma City Governments Office of State Finance

James Allen, Carter County Gail Hedgcoth, Osage County Assessor Becky Coleman, Muscogee Creek Nation Ian Peebles, City of Edmond Julie Adams, NRCS Katy Rich, OK State Dept of Health Michael Funaro, ESRI Alicia Nicely, ACOG Michael Reid, DEQ Steve Telford, ODOT Ron Maxwell, ODOT Michelle Swedlow, OK Army National Guard Lyndsey Girod, Muscogee Creek Nation Sara Cobb, City of Edmond

Wade Patterson made a motion to approve the minutes. Kim Carter seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

# 5. Committee Reports

Shellie Willoughby stated that little progress has been made on the GIS Job Descriptions. She is still working with OPM in order to get the issues resolved and get the descriptions implemented soon.

Dan Hough gave the Council members a landcover dataset workgroup update. The members of the committee have met and are putting together a proposal to submit to Fish and Wildlife in the coming weeks.

#### 6. <u>Presentation: Carter County 2009 Disasters, Blurring the Lines for Clarity by James</u> <u>Allen, Carter County and Charles Brady, City of Ardmore</u>

#### 8. GIS Discussion / Data Issues

Mike Sharp proposed the Council start moving forward to address the issues of data in the state. Mike would like the Council to develop a data governance model and identify data stewards for specific data layers. The goal would be to build a structure of data stewards and manage it for the state. Mike will be providing more information about this topic in the coming months.

Mike stated that USDA will be flying new 1 meter color orthos this spring. Color Infrared is also an option for \$100, 000. If you are interested in the color IR please contact Mike.

## 9. New Business

None

# 10. Announcements

SCAUG User Group Meeting, March 2, 2010, Broken Arrow, OK <u>www.scaug.org</u> GIS Day at the Capitol, March 10, 2010, Oklahoma City, OK <u>www.okmaps.onenet.net</u> SCAUG Conference, March 29– April 2, Ft Worth, Texas. <u>www.scaug.org</u> MAGIC Symposium, April 18-22, 2010, Kansas City, Mo. <u>www.magicgis.org</u>

# 11. Next Council Meeting

The next meeting will be held April 9, 2010 at 10:30 a.m.

# 12. <u>Adjourn</u>

The motion was made to adjourn by Wade Patterson and seconded by Kim Carter. The meeting adjourned at 11:45 am